Why Read? (Image Post)

Moving into August, I’m thinking about the coming year more and more. I will be teaching some students who struggle to read well, let alone on level, and I want to develop some better strategies to help them improve. One thing I always come back to is independent reading. I value assigned reading, pushing them out of their comfort zones, but I know how important independent reading is for lifelong readers. They have to connect with what they read, and while I will choose things that teach them necessary skills, I want them to keep reading long after my class because they love the characters and the stories, not because they love analyzing diction and syntax.

Here is a wonderful infographic from Kelly Gallagher’s website made by a teacher after one of his workshops that illustrates the importance of reading. We all know it, but this just acts as a beautiful visual reminder of it all.

Why Read Infographic

Infographic pulled from Kelly Gallagher’s site and can be found here.

4 thoughts on “Why Read? (Image Post)

  1. Hi Rachel:
    Fantastic graphic!! I hope you put that on your blog for the regular school year. Honestly, reading and writing are something you cannot avoid in any future career path. I did become a better writer after email was invented. Before that, I loved math and avoided reading and writing like the plague!!

    • I will definitely put it on my classroom blog and then on my classroom wall! And I will probably quote you in my classroom now! My students really don’t believe us when English teachers say that because they perceive reading as literature only, but it really isn’t. I’m hoping that by working on their perception of it this year, with the further integration of non-fiction, they can start to see how much it will be in their lives beyond book reading (though that’s still good for them!).

  2. Very nice graphic, I would actually consider hanging it on the door of the library for everyone entering to see at the beginning of the year. It often seems that we continually advocate for reading but this infographic really puts it together well. Do you have these kinds of advocacy discussions with your reluctant readers? How do you hand them?

    • I have had a few conversations like these – one like this with a student about why reading was better for your brain than video games (yup). But I know I will have many more of these this year as I’m teaching a larger number of struggling readers this year than in previous years, so I’m looking forward to incorporating this and some other strategies into my conversation and my work. For reluctant readers, to me, it’s all about getting them interested and getting them connected to reading. Children who became attached to it when they were little are already at that level, so the teenagers who haven’t had that chance yet deserve the same start. So I do a lot of independent reading, choices, and guided selection (where I give them a theme or a genre, and they pick within that). Another teacher gave me a great idea too, to give them a page requirement that they have to read to, so that children who avoid large books don’t feel they like have to read the whole thing (though we hope they still will once they get into it). So this year, I will tell students to read at least 100 pages of a book. Then, if they don’t want to continue, they can stop. If they enjoy the book, they can keep reading it. But this way, they won’t just pick a book based on size but really pick it based on topic, hopefully increasing their chances of connecting to it. Fingers crossed! What about you? How do you handle reluctant students in your classroom? How do you connect with them?

Leave a Reply

