Do Schools Kill Creativity? (Video post)

Below you will find one of my favorite YouTube education videos of all time from Sir Ken Robinson on whether or not school systems kill creativity. While I don’t personally go that far, I do find his analysis of the industrialized school system and the American public school system to be fascinating in particular. At our core, we teachers know that not every kid is the same and that we must differentiate (to the best of our ability) to help children reach their potential. However, we only have so many minutes in a day and minutes with a given student, and that number gets lower as you add more students into a classroom and more classes to a day and more courses to our loads. So my mind cannot help but question – what if it’s not us and our style or our students who are flawed but the basics of our system? What if the industrialized system of moving children through a standardized, for all intents and purposes, machine is what’s flawed? I have some ideas about what could replace it, and many of them, in my dreams, involve something like England’s Summerhill school. However, I’m more practical than my dreams, so I know better than to think it’s that simple. Just the same, I won’t give up trying to imagine different versions of what we have. And this video, no matter how many times I watch it, always gets me thinking about what other ways we could do this thing we all love so much… 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Do Schools Kill Creativity? (Video post)

  1. Have you ever seen ACCEPTED, where they created the South Harmon Institute of Technology? This is the firs thing I thought of. They didn’t want to go to a college because of the money and the fact that it was ruining creativity so they created their own school, own curriculum, etc.. and went to do what they wanted to do while learning how to do it.

    • Yea I LOVED that movie for all the reasons beyond the comedy (though of course I loved that too). I think about sometimes what it would mean if we pushed aside all of our assumptions about what a school and a classroom “should be” and “must be” and instead start again from scratch, without assumptions. I wonder then what we would come up with in this day and age. Maybe the same, maybe better, maybe worse. I don’t know! But I like the idea of school becoming about creativity instead of production.

Leave a Reply

